28 Black Fashion Designers To Support in 2019

By Jamila Jones

As a Black fashion designer, representation is rooted in my drive and inspiration. When I was first introduced to fashion design, the number of Black designers in the industry was limited. For example, Tracy Reese, Kimora Lee Simmons, and Sean Combs were the few designers I knew of with mainstream labels. This year, during Black History Month, I decided to use my social media platform to educate my followers about 28 of my favorite and current day Black designers.

Each day of the month, I posted an Instagram Story of one of the designers, or their work, and add to my “BHM Feature” designer digital directory. The designers I featured range in aesthetic, gender, and age. I had the pleasure of attending some of the featured designers’ shows at Fashion Week and hearing their stories at various panel events throughout the month. Some of these amazing designers include Laquan Smith of Laquan Smith, Daniel Day of Dapper Dan boutique, and Jerry Lorenzo of Fear of God.

Social media allows us to learn about our favorite artists through scrolls, swipes, and snapshots. The beauty of these platforms lies in how easily we can connect with those we admire, and it’s been especially exciting to see designers who I’ve featured reply to my stories. Overall, my followers have expressed how informative and inspiring this year’s “BHM Feature” has been, thus making 28 Days of Designers so rewarding for me.

Take a look at these beautiful designs and remember to support Black designers all year round.

  1. Daniel Day of Dapper Dan (@dapperdanharlem)

gucci-dapper-dan-collection-00000.jpg

2. Carly Cushnie of Cushnie (@carlycushnie)

Cushnie.jpg

3. Kimberly Goldson (@kimberlygoldson)

Kimberly Goldson.jpg

4. Tracy Reese (@tracy_reese)

01-tracy-reese-spring-2018.jpg

5. Stella Jean (@stellajeanroma)

download-3.jpg

6. Olivier Roustening of Balmain (@olivier_roustening)

Olivier Rousteing.jpg

7. Virgil Alboh of Louis Vuitton and Off-White (@virgilalboh)

gettyimages-1094960918.jpg

8. Azede Jean Pierre (@azedejean_pierre)

Azede-Jean-Pierre-Spring-Summer-2014-1-600x899.jpg

9. Lizzy and Darlene Okpo of William Okpo (@williamokpo)

WO_AJW_2112_1024x1024.jpg

10. Laquan Smith (@laquan_smith)

Laquan Smith.jpg

11. Jerry Lorenzo of Fear of God (@jerrylorenzo)

jl-fall-18.jpg

12. Maxwell Osborne of Public School New York (@maxwellosbourne)

Public School NYC.jpg

13. Kerbito Raymond of Pyer Moss (@kerbito)

Pyer Moss.jpg

14. Duro Olowu (@duroolowu)

Duro Olowu.jpg

15. Charles Harbison (@charlienchargie)

Harbison.jpg

16. Bishme Cromartie (@bishme_cromartie)

Bishme.jpg

17. Abrima and Rosario Dawson of Studio 189 (@studiooneeightynine)

Studio 189.jpg

18. Larissa Muehleder of Muehleder (@girlinthewhiteglasses)

Muehleder.jpg

19. Christopher John Rogers (@christopherjohnrogers)

Christopher John Rogers.jpg

20. Coco and Breezy (@cocoandbreezy)

Coco and Breezy.jpg

21. Romeo Hunte (@romeohunte)

Romeo Hunte.png

22. Maki Oh (@maki.oh)

Maki+Oh+Spring+2019+JHT1dBcTo3Sl.jpg

23. Aurora James of Brother Vellies (@brothervellies)

Brother Vellies.jpg

24. Jerome LaMaar (@jeromelamaar)

download-2.jpg

25. Recho Omondi (@omndi)

omondi-02.nocrop.w710.h2147483647.jpg

26. Phlemuns (@phlemuns)

Phlemuns.jpg

27. Rihanna of Fenty (@badgalriri)

Fenty.jpg

28. Fe Noel (@fenoel)

Fe Noel.jpg

Aniyah MoriniaComment